Call for Papers

The 15th International Conference of the Italian Association for Artificial Intelligence
Genova, November 28 – December 1, 2016

Topics of Interest

The conference covers broadly the many aspects of theoretical and applied Artificial Intelligence. A series of workshops dedicated to specific topics will complement the main conference program. Contributions are invited on original, and unpublished research on all aspects of artificial intelligence, including, but not
limited to:

* AI and digital entertainment
* AI applications
* AI architectures
* AI in Learning Environments
* AI and education
* Big Data
* Cognitive modeling
* Cognitive Robotics
* Constraint Satisfaction
* Experimentation of Combinatorial Algorithms
* Human Computer Interaction
* Information Agents
* Information Retrieval and Extraction
* Knowledge Acquisition
* Knowledge Engineering
* Knowledge Representation
* Learning in adaptive systems
* Machine Consciousness

* Machine learning
* Mathematical Foundations
* Metacognition in Artificial Agents
* Multiagent Systems, Distributed AI
* Natural Language Processing
* Ontologies
* Philosophical Foundations
* Planning and Scheduling
* Reasoning
* Search
* Semantic Web
* Smart Cities
* Soft and Evolutionary Computing
* Temporal Reasoning
* Uncertainty
* Vision and Perception
* Web and Data Mining


Submission Instructions

We welcome and encourage the submission of high-quality, original papers, which are not being submitted simultaneously for publication elsewhere. Papers should be written in English, formatted according to the Springer LNCS style, and not exceed 12 pages plus bibliography.

Paper submission is electronic via easychair at the address:

As in previous years, the proceedings will appear in Springer LNAI.

A fast track for extended and revised versions of the best AI*IA 2016 papers is planned on Intelligenza Artificiale — The international Journal of the AI*IA:

Important Dates

Abstract submission by June 12th,  expired
Paper submission by June 6th,  (EXTENDED) to June 19th
Notification to authors by July 19th, 2016
Camera-ready copies due by Aug 29th, 2016

General Chair
Giovanni Adorni, University of Genoa

Program Chairs
Stefano Cagnoni, University of Parma
Marco Gori, University of Siena
Marco Maratea, University of Genoa

Workshop & Doctoral Consortium Chairs
Viviana Mascardi, University of Genoa
Ilaria Torre, University of Genoa

Local Organization Chairs
Alessio Merlo, University of Genoa
Simone Torsani, University of Genoa

Local Organizing Committee
Angelo Ferrando, University of Genoa
Frosina Koceva, University of Genoa
Laura Pandolfo, University of Genoa

Programme Committee

Matteo Baldoni, University of Torino
Stefania Bandini, University of Milano-Bicocca
Roberto Basili, University of Roma Tor Vergata
Nicola Basilico, University of Milano
Federico Bergenti, University of Parma
Stefano Bistarelli, University of Perugia
Luciana Bordoni, ENEA
Francesco Buccafurri, University of Reggio Calabria
Amedeo Cappelli, ISTI-CNR
Luigia Carlucci Aiello, University of Roma La Sapienza
Amedeo Cesta, CNR – National Research Council of Italy
Antonio Chella, University of Palermo
Carlo Combi, University of Verona
Gabriella Cortellessa, CNR – National Research Council of Italy
Stefania Costantini, University of L’Aquila
Giuseppe De Giacomo, University of Roma La Sapienza
Nicola Di Mauro, University of Bari
Francesco Donini, Tuscia University
Agostino Dovier, University of Udine
Floriana Esposito, University of Bari
Stefano Ferilli, University of Bari
Salvatore Gaglio, University of Palermo
Patrick Gallinari, LIP6 – University of Paris 6
Marco Gavanelli, University of Ferrara
Georg Gottlob, Oxford University
Nicola Guarino, ISTC-CNR
Luca Iocchi, University of Roma La Sapienza
Evelina Lamma, University of Ferrara
Nicola Leone, University of Calabria
Chendong Li, Dell
Francesca Alessandra Lisi, University of Bari
Sara Manzoni, University of Milano-Bicocca
Paola Mello, University of Bologna
Alessio Micheli, University of Pisa
Alfredo Milani, University of Perugia
Michela Milano, University of Bologna
Stefania Montani, University of Piemonte Orientale
Alessandro Moschitti, University of Trento
Angelo Oddi, ISTC-CNR
Andrea Omicini, University of Bologna
Maria Teresa Pazienza, University of Roma Tor Vergata
Alberto Pettorossi, Università di Roma Tor Vergata
Roberto Pirrone, University of Palermo
Piero Poccianti, Consorzio Operativo MPS
Gian Luca Pozzato, University of Torino
Luca Pulina, University of Sassari
Daniele P. Radicioni, University of Torino
Francesco Ricca, University of Calabria
Fabrizio Riguzzi, University of Ferrara
Andrea Roli, University of Bologna
Salvatore Ruggieri, University of Pisa
Fabio Sartori, University of Milano Bicocca
Ken Satoh, National Institute of Informatics, Sokendai
Andrea Schaerf, University of Udine
Floriano Scioscia, Politecnico of Bari
Giovanni Semeraro, University of Bari
Roberto Serra, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia
Giovanni Squillero, Politecnico di Torino
Pietro Torasso, University of Torino
Leonardo Vanneschi, Universidade Nova, Lisbona
Eloisa Vargiu, Barcelona Digital Technology Center
Marco Villani, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia
Giuseppe Vizzari, University of Milano Bicocca